Best. Thanksgiving. Pie. Ever!

Here it is.  The recipe I wished I’d blogged about last year, so that when I couldn’t find my paper copy of it this year, I would have just been able to pull it up online.  It’s my favorite Thanksgiving pie.  Ever!  I don’t know where my mom got it, but she used to make it every year, and when she stopped, I started.  I love this recipe, and it’s even more special to me because Thanksgiving is the only time I ever make it.  It’s also a perfect Black Friday breakfast with a cup of coffee or milk.  Mmmm, I’m drooling just writing about it.

CRANBERRY PIE

Ingredients:

2.5 c. cranberries (washed) — approx. 1 bag

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I’ve used walnuts, pecans, and hazelnuts, and they’re all delish!)

2 eggs

1 c. sugar

1 c. flour

1/2 c. (1 stick) butter or margarine, melted

1/4 c. shortening or Crisco, melted

Instructions:

Wash & dry the cranberries.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F), and grease a 10″ pie plate.  This is an occasion where size does matter.  This recipe is written for a 10″ pie plate for a reason.  If you’re using a 9″ or smaller pie plate, you should reduce the amount of cranberries & nuts.  Assuming you do have a 10″ pie plate, the first step is to mix the first 3 ingredients together and spread them in the bottom of your greased pie plate.  For lack of a better description, yum!

Cranberries, Walnuts, and Sugar

Next, you’re going to beat the eggs in a large mixing bowl, and add the remaining 1 cup of sugar, flour, butter/margarine, and shortening/Crisco.  To make this recipe a tiny bit more health-conscious, if you prefer to avoid trans-fats, you should use butter and organic trans-fat-free shortening (pictured), since both margarine and Crisco are full of trans-fats.  Beat this mixture well, and pour it over the berry/nut mixture in the pie plate.  It will look roughly like this when it’s ready to go into the oven:

Here it is before it goes into the oven…

Bake the whole thing at 350 F for 50-60 minutes, until golden brown on top.  Let it cool, and enjoy!

What do YOU think?

