Shoeper Challenge 26 of 60 (rsvp)

Well, here’s another pair of shoes saved in Shoeperwoman’s shoe challenge.  And I apologize that this picture’s almost a week old now.  I wore these shoes on Sunday June 5 to celebrate my niece’s HS graduation.  The school colors are red & white, so OF COURSE I had to wear red shoes, right?

But, while normally red shoes make me (very) happy, today I write in sadness.  Because as much as I’ve come to love (all) my heels, I can’t wear them for awhile.  As a result of trying to take up running to aid my weight loss efforts, which I was also REALLY enjoying (go figure!), I ended up with Achilles tendinitis in my right leg.  It’s been sore for many weeks now, and I have been avoiding running for fear of making it worse.  This week, I finally found time to get it checked by a doctor, who delivered the expected bad news.

To treat this condition, I have to take Rx strength Advil for a week.  I’m also supposed to stick with flat shoes, and add an arch support insole, because I’m nearly flat-footed, and the nurse practitioner thought that might have also contributed to my Achilles problem.  So, no more heels for awhile, which makes me sad now that it’s FINALLY pretty shoe season.

Last but not least, I’m embarrassed to let you know I’ve also gained back some of the weight I’d lost.  When I weighed myself the day after this picture was taken, I had re-gained 7 lb. from my lowest recent weight.  I’ve recommitted to my efforts & goals though, and even decided to join a “Biggest Loser” style weight-loss pool.  So my current stats from last summer are that I’m down 14 lb., with 40 lb. to go.

I’ve had a great week of eating more dairy, fruits & veggies, and drinking more water though, so I’m eager to see if the scale rewards me tomorrow.  I’ll keep you posted, and try to get back to regular Saturday updates.

What do YOU think?

