The Choke Hold

Beachroad pigeon

Image by Pandiyan via Flickr

So, after bath-time, and a rousing version of The Pigeon Finds A Hot Dog (by Mo Willems), which coincidentally, is impossible to read aloud without laughing, I tucked my sweet darling daughters into bed for the night a few minutes ago.  As usual, the minute I tell them “Good night,  I love you,” is the minute they transform into snuggle-headed ninny-muggins, a lesser known derivative of cotton-headed ninny-muggins*.

Anyway, it’s a good thing Sabrina thinks a minute is 1 second instead of 60, because she asked me to snuggle her for 6 extra minutes.  Teasingly, I told her “no, maybe I’ll snuggle you for 7 minutes.”  Then, she said “8 minutes,” to which I responded “maybe I’ll stay for 10 minutes.”  From there, she went whole hog, and asked me to stay for “100 minutes.” and I heartily agreed, knowing that as long as I counted to 100 (seconds), she’d be appeased.

It’s been a challenge getting her to actually STAY in bed after bedtime, so I’m doing this with an ulterior motive, but that doesn’t make it wrong, right?

Anyway, not to be out-snuggled, Roni asked if I’d snuggle HER for the next song on their lullaby CD that we play every night, which really would have added about 7 minutes to the whole routine, so I told her no, but that I’d stay for the rest of the first song.  She agreed, and I layed on her bed with her until the song ended.  When I lifted up my head to go, she tightened her grip on me, right around the neck.  It was just so cute I had to laugh and lay down again.  This was repeated 5 or 6 times, until Sabrina opened her eyes, and asked “WHAT are you laughing about, Mommy?” — as if Roni had told me some great joke, and she didn’t want to miss it. 

It was just one of those perfect moments where everyone was calm & happy, and my heart just swelled.  Eventually I had to break the choke hold by telling Roni I was going to laugh so hard, I’d pee in her bed if she didn’t let me go.  So I made a cursory stop in the bathroom so I wouldn’t be caught in a lie, and then I headed downstairs, without any whining or begging. 

Hallelujah, and sweet dreams to all!  🙂

*Bonus points for anyone who can tell me what movie contains cotton-headed ninny-muggins, without using Google, an iPhone, or any other web-assisted search or device.**

**Bonus points are not redeemable for cash or any other prize of any legal value, other than bragging rights that you know about cotton-headed ninny-muggins.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel on January 27, 2011 at 10:08 PM

    Elf! What a sweet time with your girls.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kariann on January 28, 2011 at 6:39 AM

    An ELF reference!!!!!!!!!!!!love it

    Reply

What do YOU think?

