This is freaking me out

I know it shouldn’t.  But it does.

We have an old house.  Built in 1920 or 1921.  I can never remember the exact year, but it’s 90+ years old.  I love it, but when we bought it 7 years ago, there was no doorbell.  So, we bought one.  Better than installing a knocker, right?  Especially because I was 39 weeks pregnant when we moved in, and we had no idea if we’d get a light or heavy sleeper.

Ever since, the damn doorbell has had a mind of its own.  It works if you ring it, great.  The problem is, it also works/rings WHEN NO-ONE IS RINGING IT.

People have suggested that because the doorbell is wireless, we might be picking up a signal if someone rings our neighbor’s doorbell.  Which would be a lovely theory, but we only have 3 neighbors close enough to have that effect, and every time I’ve ever opened the door to look, there’s no-one at those doors either.

It’s spooky because it comes & goes in phases.  For example, it’s happened about a dozen times in the last 3 days, at all different times of day.  Thankfully, knock on wood, it’s never happened in the middle of the night.  Even if it did, my bedroom window looks out to the street and our front door, so I could easily tell without even going downstairs if someone was there or not.

Other people have suggested that we have a ghost ringing our bell.  I don’t believe in ghosts, in the traditional sense that they can directly interact with us this way, but it’s kind of nice to think of it as a lost loved one reaching out to us to show us they still care.  Even if it’s just a weird wireless flukiness thing, ever since someone suggested that it could be a ghost, I don’t get really scared like I otherwise might, because it makes me think about someone I love & miss.  It’s not always the same person in my mind, but thinking of those people makes me feel peaceful & relaxed instead of jumpy or afraid.

It does startle me sometimes though.  I wonder if it’ll keep happening after we sell this house — either to the new residents someday, or to us when we move to another house…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jim Bell on August 16, 2010 at 11:35 PM

    It’s not as freaky as when the stereo used to randomly blare loud static and voices even when the power was turned off.

    Reply

    • Posted by Karen on August 17, 2010 at 6:20 AM

      Right, but when the stereo used to do that, I could explain it away as random interference and picking up police scanners/signals. It WAS weird that it used to happen even when the stereo was completely turned off though.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Kariann Murphy on August 17, 2010 at 3:53 AM

    That is freaky but if it makes you feel any better our wireless doorbell use to do the same thing. It bugged me out so much I got rid of it

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ashley on March 4, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    The bell at Mulberry did that!! and yes, I am catching up on the old posts!!

    Reply

What do YOU think?

