Missing my Roni-Roo today

Roni had her 1st night of sleepover @ Auntie Joyce’s last night.  We were off to a rough start, after we left her there, about 10 minutes down the highway, we realized we forgot to leave her booster seat.  Since she’s a tiny little 7 year old (47 inches tall, 44 lb.), we couldn’t just leave her without it.  So, we had to turn around to drop it off.  Luckily it’s not difficult to remove or install!

It was a little strange driving home without her last night, but it was dark & late, and Sabrina was sleeping, so it wasn’t a huge difference compared to the car ride we’d have had if she was with us.  Driving to the train this morning was weird though.  Even though Jim usually handles the morning drop-off routine, the seat we left was the one from my car, so any time I looked in my rear-view mirror, I got a view of the big empty space in the back where her seat belongs.  It was like a microscopic preview of what empty-nest syndrome must be like.

Joyce had mentioned bringing her to Boston to meet Jim & I for lunch one day though, so I called her this morning to figure out which day we’d do that.  We decided on tomorrow, and we’re going to try to find somewhere that we can sit outside to eat.  She also said they were going to the Natick mall today, which by itself would be fun, but I’m sure will be HEAVEN for them because it will be Roni’s first trip to the American Girl Doll store.

I’ve never been myself, but I understand this is more than a store, it’s an experience, complete with its own full-service restaurant.  I can’t wait to see the pictures.  I also can’t wait to see my little Roni-Roo tomorrow.  ♥

Joyce also mentioned that she’s been very well-behaved so far.  I hope she keeps it up.  I think she does it just to make a liar out of me, since for me, she’s very sassy, pouty & whiny.  But for other people, she’s quiet, well-behaved, and polite.

If only I could figure out how to teach her to behave that way at home (or out) with me.

What do YOU think?

