Not so happy surprise!

OK, I’ll be blunt.  Sometimes having a 3-year old is like having a tour of EVERY public toilet within a 100-yard radius whenever I leave the house with her.  She’s fully-potty- trained, even at night, and even if she uses the bathroom moments before we leave the house, it’s a near-certainty that wherever we go, she will need to use the bathroom.  So, given the choice between complete hibernation, leaving the house only when absolutely necessary for work, food & basic supplies, or carrying on our usual daily lives, with just a few extra bathroom stops, we’ve consciously chosen to continue trying to lead normal lives.

We know this is (to some extent) an exercise in futility, but yet we carry on.  Tonight, we had to go grocery shopping.  So, we fed the children, and even put potato chips in their soup to entice them to eat quickly, then headed to the grocery store.

NOT surprisingly, half-way through the store, Sabrina announces that she needs the potty.  So I take her.  She goes, we wash hands, and return to grocery shopping as usual.

LESS than 5 minutes later, she has to go again.  She’s holding her bottom, and looks like she’s straining to hold it, so we hurry.  In vain.  We get to the bathroom, only to discover that it’s too late.  And messy too late.  Throwing-the-underpants-away-and-letting-her-go-commando-messy-too-late.

Calgon, take me away!  I scolded her, she cried, and I turned my back on her to let her finish her business.  What I really want to know is WHY can’t I just have a normal happy day when my loving husband brings me red roses at work?  Why does the universe have to smite me later with a potty disaster?  😦

Thank goodness, both short crazy people (my children!) are in bed quietly.  I don’t know (or really care right now) if they’re actually sleeping.  I’m sure at least one of them will wake me up at least once in the middle of the night though.  It’s days like this I wish the little one hadn’t outgrown her crib.

Maybe tomorrow will be better overall?  It’s at least one day closer to the weekend…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tyra on July 14, 2010 at 9:45 PM

    Oh God! I have SO been there!

    At least you can find the humor in it 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laura on July 14, 2010 at 10:00 PM

    Sometimes I think it was easier when Lauren was still in diapers.

    No running to the potty when you are 1/2 way across the store. No mad dashes from the car when she tells you 10 miles from home she has to go.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kariann Murphy on July 15, 2010 at 8:02 AM

    Well take comfort in the fact every mom has had to clean up messy accidents in the grocery store or mall bathroom. I feel bad for you both learning to use the potty it is never easy and you have her trained before she was 3. Most of us who were still rushing to “make-it” every time when our kids were that age. So it could be worse

    Reply

  4. Posted by Su on July 16, 2010 at 2:30 AM

    Ugh potty training! Cammando is a term we use all the time on our house!

    Reply

What do YOU think?

