To-Read List

So, I recently finished Marian Keyes’ This Charming Man (not as good as her Walsh sisters series, but it was OK).  Then I saw The Time Traveler’s Wife, because Jim had read the book and wanted to see the movie.  Since I hadn’t read the book, the movie was a little confusing, but I enjoyed it enough to then read the book.  I usually read the book first, so I wasn’t sure if having seen the movie would ruin the book for me, but it didn’t.  The book was a little confusing still, at the beginning, but then it was great.  I’ll probably re-read this one at some point.

Right now, I’m reading Stephen King’s Lisey’s Story, and it’s OK, but a little slower read than I usually go for.  It’s 500 pages though, so I’ll probably be on it for awhile, since I’m only on page 61, and I started it last Friday.

I also bought some new books over the weekend, and in no particular order, here are the next books on my list to read:

*The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.  Alan Bradley (http://tinyurl.com/2efzuf4)

*The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  Stieg Larsson (http://tinyurl.com/2dwjtel)

*The Girl who Played with Fire.  Stieg Larsson (http://tinyurl.com/24brwz4)

*Last Night in Twisted River.  John Irving (http://tinyurl.com/2ahfkoa)

What about you?  What are you reading?  What do you think of it?  What’s next on your list?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kariann Murphy on July 14, 2010 at 8:07 AM

    I just read Pyramid Response to Intervention by Austin Buffum, A book for my new position at work.

    I am in the middle of Darkness Revealed by Alexandra Ivy. It is a silly mind-numbing series about demons living amongst the human population unnoticed.

    Next though on the list is a book I have been looking forward to reading called Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo about a serial killer in a small Amish town. The killer was never caught but just stopped after one of his proposed teenage victims survives. The survivor comes back to the town 16 yrs later as sheriff only to have the killings start over again

    Reply

  2. Time Traveler’s Wife is one of my all-time favs 🙂

    Right now, I’m reading The Girl who Played with Fire, and it’s really good (like stay up way past my bedtime reading good). The movie comes out in the US on July 16, so I’m trying to finish it before seeing that. This is a great series, but it’s easy to get bogged down if you obsess over all the Swedish – the place names, etc. If you ignore those, it’s easy to get sucked in.

    I just read “When Did I Get Like This?: The Screamer, the Worrier, the Dinosaur-Chicken-Nugget-Buyer, and Other Mothers I Swore I’d Never Be” by Amy Wilson, and it was hysterical, and very relatable – about giving up the idea of perfection as a mother.

    Since it’s summer, my to-read list includes lots of beach-read-summer-fluff:

    The Island by Elin Hilderbrand (her books are all set on Nantucket – great beach reads)

    Wifey by Judy Blume – I’ve read one of her other adult novels and liked it, so think I’ll give this one a try.

    My Name is Memory by Ann Brasheres – I loved her last novel, so I’m looking forward to this one.

    Reply

What do YOU think?

